17-20 June 2019
Bucerius Law School
Europe/Berlin timezone

The 8th International Conference on Scanning Probe Spectroscopy (SPS'19) will be held in Hamburg, Germany on June 17-20, 2019, following the previous conferences 1997, 2003, 2009, 2015 in Poznań, Poland, and 2000, 2006 in Hamburg and 2012 in Timmendorfer Strand, Germany.
This meeting will focus on recent advances in instrumental developments, experimental methods, theoretical conceptions and applications of scanning probe spectroscopy.

The topics include:

  • scanning tunneling spectroscopy
  • inelastic scanning tunneling spectroscopy
  • spin-polarized tunneling spectroscopy
  • scanning force microscopy and spectroscopy
  • scanning near-field optical spectroscopy

Plenary Speakers

  • Wilson Ho, UC Irvine
  • Joe Stroscio, NIST Gaithersburg
  • Qikun Xue, Tsinghua University Beijing

Invited Speakers

  • Franz Giessibl, University of Regensburg
  • Oliver Groening, EMPA Dübendorf
  • Leo Gross, IBM Zurich
  • Shuji Hasegawa, University of Tokyo
  • Jinfeng Jia, Shanghai Jiao Tong University
  • Peter Liljeroth, Aalto
  • José Ignacio Pascual, Nanogune, San Sebastian
  • Jascha Repp, University of Regensburg
  • Hidemi Shigekawa, Tsukuba
  • Tong Zhang, Fudan University, Shanghai

Conference Deadlines

  • Call for papers: January 15, 2019
  • Submission of abstracts: March 31, 2019
  • Notification of acceptance: April 15, 2019
  • Conference Registration: May 1, 2019
  • Conference: June 17-20, 2019

Scientific Program
The scientific program will include plenary talks (40 min), invited talks (30 min) and contributed talks (20 min) as well as poster presentations. Detailed instructions for submission of one-page abstracts are given on the conference website.
Social Program
A reception on the ocacasion of the 100-years anniversary of TU Poznań and the University of Hamburg on June 17th as well as a conference excursion with banquet are planned.
The conference will take place at the Bucerius Law School located in the city center of Hamburg next to the Physics Department of the University of Hamburg.

Bucerius Law School
Moot Court
Jungiusstraße 6 20355 Hamburg Germany

Conference Secretary

Mrs. Andrea Beese
University of Hamburg
Department of Physics
Jungiusstraße 11 A
20355 Hamburg

Phone: +49 40 42838 - 3203
Fax: +49 40 42838 - 6188
E-mail: abeese@physnet.uni-hamburg.de